My Toy Collection Road – Episode 2

253_11.gif

253_3.gif

(Continue from My Toy Collection Road – Episode 1) ….I can’t contain the growth of a dream to expand my toy collection after I bought the 50s Japan made tin toy typewriter from Ah Choon, I went crazy about it. I went to visit Ah Choon’s antique shop almost every week and I even visited his shop everyday sometimes.

I was so suprised that Ah Choon had so many good tin toys in his shop when I visited him everytime. He always disappointed me when I wanted to purchase the old toy from him. “Sorry, I can’t sell to you as these toys were reserved for a BIG BUYER”, replied Ah Choon. This was not the 1st time which I heard about the words of BIG BUYER.

I WAS CURIOUS TO KNOW WHO HE IS?

I never give up and as usual I pursuaded him to sell one of the toy cars to me. Ah Choon couldn’t stand me and finally agreed the deal after much pestering from me. 🙂

That was a 50s Germany made tin toy car, battery operated. It cost me S$70.00. Wow wow wow! This toy cost me 2 days of my salary.

The more I read about YESTERDAY OF TOYS, the more I am crazy about old toys. Then one day a wild idea suddenly surfaced, to have a museum like Mr Kitahara. When I shared this idea to my friends, they all laughed at me and said ” ARE YOU SOMETHING WRONG?” 🙂

Yes, I might be too naive to own a museum but what’s wrong to have a dream. I DON’T UNDERSTAND????

I was 25 years old at that time.

In fact, I NEVER NEVER expected to own a museum today, as DREAMs to many people is not practical but a passing whim. So, I just hope to have a so called “BIG TOY HOUSE” when I retire. But LIFE IS SPECIAL, you never believed that the TRIGGERING POINT that propelled me to my dream further was a tin toy which called POPEYE BUBBLE BLOWING ….. (to be continued)

3 Comments

  1. I can’t wait to check out the next episode. 🙂

  2. omg… please continue it asap.:((

  3. Alice, thanks for your kind support.

    Stop writing my story due to the heavy work load, but will try to continue soon.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Comments RSS